Top 20 Women Professors in Oklahoma

Top Women Professor at Oklahoma Online College

Oklahoma is home to 154 institutions of post-secondary education. The Sooner State hosts 18 state universities, 13 state colleges, four tribal colleges, and 17 independent colleges and universities. The balance is comprised of private technical and vocational schools, online colleges, and trade schools.

At the center of Oklahoma colleges’ scholarship success are their outstanding faculties. Narrowing the list down to the top 20 women faculty members is no easy task. Sooner State professors have met with international acclaim among their peers and researchers. They teach at universities, medical centers, research laboratories, and their fields span from political science and history to computer science and meteorology. Some women are early into their careers; others are recognized for lifetime achievements. Each is beyond noteworthy.

Professor School Bio Photo
Amanda Minks The University of Oklahoma Honors College

Dr. Minks, Reach for Excellence Assistant Professor in the Honors College, teaches with the Departments of Anthropology, Native American Studies, Gender and Women’s Studies, and Musicology. Her honors courses focus on focus on music, language, and cultural politics in the Americas.

Amy McGovern University of Oklahoma

Dr. McGovern’s research focuses on developing and using machine learning and data mining, particularly in conditions of severe weather and in outer space. She is chair of the American Meteorological Society’s Committee on Artificial Intelligence Applications to Environmental Science.

Anila T. Madhan University of Tulsa Collins College of Business

Dr. Madhan specializes in the research and teaching of Portfolio Management, Investments, Taxation, and Accounting at the Collins College of Business. She received her PhD in Finance from The University of Pune, India, 2007.

Blythe Duell Southeastern Oklahoma State University

In winning the Professor of the Year honors, Dr. Duell was recognized for “excellence in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service”. She earned her Master’s and PhD in Social Psychology from Washington State University.

Derina R. Holtzhausen Oklahoma State University

Director, School of Media and Strategic Communications, Dr. Holtzhausen was honored for her book, Public Relations as Activism: Postmodern Approaches to Theory & Practice. She is the co-editor of the International Journal of Strategic Communication.

E. Ann Nalley Cameron University, Lawton

Dr. Nalley is the Clarence E. Page Endowed Chair in Math and Science Education at Cameron University. She was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2010.

Elyssa Faison University of Oklahoma

Dr. Faison is Associate Professor of Japanese History and Adjunct Associate Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies. She is author of Managing Women: Disciplining Labor in Modern Japan (University of California Press, 2007).

Emily Johnson The University of Oklahoma

Dr. Johnson, Associate Professor of Russian, won the Antsiferov Prize for the Best Work on the City of St. Petersburg by a Foreign Author. Her work focuses on the history of the Soviet labor camp system.

Heather Ketchum The University of Oklahoma

Dr. Ketchum, associate professor of biology, earned the Longmire Prize for her work in medical-veterinary and forensic entomology. Her forensic work has been featured in local and national press coverage.

Jan D. Wilson The University of Tulsa

Dr. Wilson is an associate professor of history in the Henry Kendall College of Arts & Sciences and has been on the faculty since 2007. Her research focuses on U.S. women’s history, women’s and gender studies, U.S. labor and social movements, and history of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.

Jeretta Horn Nord Oklahoma State University

Dr. Nord, professor of management science and information systems at Oklahoma State University’s Spears School of Business, is the author-founder of founder of the “A Cup of Cappuccino for the Entrepreneur’s Spirit” book series. The third volume, Women Entrepreneurs’ Edition, was named among the Best of 2010 Small Business Books by

Julie Miller-Cribbs The University of Oklahoma

Before becoming a professor, Dr. Miller-Cribbs was a St. Louis emergency room social worker. She serves as associate professor of social work and research associate in the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine’s School of Community Medicine Track.

Kalpana Misra The University of Tulsa

Dr. Misra is associate dean, Henry Kendall College of Arts and Sciences and associate professor of political science. Her most recent book is From Post Maoism to Post Marxism: The Erosion of Official Ideology in Deng’s China (Routledge).

Lisa Sielert Oklahoma City University

Oklahoma’s first public preschool teacher, Dr. Sielert joined the faculty at Oklahoma City University in 2012 following a 30-year commitment to early childhood education. She helped to pioneer elementary education models now used throughout the state.

Martha J. Ferretti The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Dr. Ferretti has earned the Elam-Plowman Chair in Physical Therapy and chairs the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences in the College of Allied Health. She serves as co-director of Central Oklahoma Turning Point, an agency that coordinates projects in the public health sector.

Patricia Hipsher Oklahoma State University

Dr. Hipsher, Associate Professor – Oklahoma State University, has served on the faculty since 1996. Her research interests include social movements and women’s movements in the Americas.

Rilla Askew University of Central Oklahoma

Askew was a finalist for the Drue Heinz Literature Prize in 1991 and her short fiction has been selected for the prestigious O. Henry Awards. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes “her work with students, faculty, and guest writers”.

Shelley Groves Southwestern Christian University

Groves is Head of the Language Arts Department, SCU. She is pursuing her PhD in Instructional Leadership in Academic Curriculum at The University of Oklahoma.

Vicki Limas The University of Tulsa College of Law

Professor Limas teaches in the law school’s J.D. program as well in its online Master of Jurisprudence in Indian Law program. She also directs the LL.M. program in American Indian and Indigenous Law. She earned her law degree from Northwestern University School in of Law in June 1984.

Whitney Bailey Oklahoma State University

Dr. Bailey, associate professor in human development and family science, is the university’s Bryan Close Professor in Adulthood and Aging. She previously was named Outstanding Faculty Member, College of Human Environmental Sciences, awarded by The Panhellenic Council and Interfraternity Council, Oklahoma State University (2010).